Log In

Your membership number
(this must be six digits long and may include zeros, e.g. 001234)

Initially set as your family name in lower-case but you may change it after you have logged in by clicking Your Details

Please enter a username and a password

Checking membership credentials

Logging in

Login Failed
Home > News > 2019 > September > 2019 Excellence in Art Design Awards

2019 Excellence in Art Design Awards

IMG_0666.jpgTalented students and teachers have wowed the judges at our union’s 2019 Excellence in Art Design Awards.

The awards held at the Queensland Multicultural Centre in Brisbane attracted over 800 entries from students and teachers across the Queensland and Northern Territory independent education sector. 

Rockhampton student wins Harriet Hunter Memorial Award

Deakon Moody from Heights College in North Rockhampton took the top honour of the Harriet Hunter Memorial Award which was established in memory of a gifted student whose life was tragically taken in the 1999 South-East Queensland floods. 

Competition judge John Fitz-Walter said Deakon’s work was bursting with fun and delight. 

“Deakon you have considered ‘Unity’ creatively and captured a unique interpretation of what it means to be united.”

The Award’s winner is selected from all winning entries from Pre-school through to Year 12. 

Indigenous Art Award 

Lurlene Langton from Youth Community Learning Centre in Toowoomba took out top honours in both the Indigenous Art (Years 5-12) category and the Years 9-10 category.

Indigenous section judge Aunty Thersa Nunn praised Lurlene’s artwork, saying: 

“This beautiful painting represents everyone and everything. It is evident that Lurlene has been listening to her elders and brings everything into her artwork. The Cherbourg country totems are represented beautifully and identifies unity between land and people. I am in absolute awe that a young person can produce such an amazing piece of art.”


This year’s Award’s theme was “Unity” inspired by the Helen Keller quote “Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much”. 

It was chosen to commemorate our union’s centenary year and the 25th anniversary of the Awards.  

IEUA-QNT Branch Secretary Terry Burke said our union established the awards in 1994 to promote and encourage artistic students. 

“Art is a very important area of learning in schools and kindergartens and IEUA-QNT is proud to support students, teachers and practicing artists in Queensland,” he said.

“Award recipients are to be congratulated for their remarkable achievements.” 

Unity was aptly depicted by Molly Gilbert from St Peters Lutheran College, who won the Years 11-12 category. 

Section judge Kylie Dell commended the young artist on her detailed, expressive mark-marking.

“Molly’s etching captures the theme by showing us the fundamental bonds that unite us within our community and the wider world – family,” she said. 

Recipients of Awards of Excellence included: 

Open: Jodie Sindle – Holy Family Primary School, Indooroopilly

Indigenous Art (Years 5-12): Lurlene Langton – Youth Community Learning Centre, Toowoomba

Years 11-12: Molly Gilbert – St. Peters Lutheran College, Indooroopilly 

Years 9-10: Lurlene Langton – Youth Community Learning Centre, Toowoomba

Years 7-8: Taleah Stirling – West Moreton Anglican College, Karrabin

Years 5-6: Alyssia Cavali – St. Francis Xavier Catholic School, Runaway Bay

Years 3-4: Zara Jamison – St. Francis Xavier Catholic School, Runaway Bay

Prep- Year 2: Tamryn Foster – Good Shepherd Lutheran College, Howard Springs (NT)

Preschool/Kindergarten: Savannah Whitfield – Laidley Kindergarten, Laidley

To see the Award winners artworks, click here

Authorised by Terry Burke, Independent Education Union of Australia – Queensland & Northern Territory Branch, Brisbane.