Log In

Your membership number
(this must be six digits long and may include zeros, e.g. 001234)

Initially set as your family name in lower-case but you may change it after you have logged in by clicking Your Details

Please enter a username and a password

Checking membership credentials

Logging in

Login Failed
Home > News > 2019 > October > 2019 Literary Competition

2019 Literary Competition

WEB1.jpgOn Wednesday the 16 of October our union celebrated the winners of our 2019 Literary Competition.

The awards remain the longest continuing literary competition for students in Queensland (this year celebrating its 60th year) and are open to both government and non-government school students.

IEUA-QNT Branch Secretary Terry Burke said the competition was an opportunity for students to enhance their skills through writing.

“The awards were established by our union to encourage literary development in young people,” Mr Burke said.

“Self-expression through writing is a very important area of development and these students should be proud of their great achievements.”

IMG_1298.JPGStudents inspired to keep flexing their creative muscles 

Guest speaker, Sara El Sayed - an Egyptian writer and Master of Fine Arts student based in Brisbane - inspired the audience to keep exploring creative writing and not be afraid to dive into the creative process. 

“Sometimes when we flex our creative muscle, we’re able to convey ideas, thoughts and feelings in a much more real way than we ever could if we just reported straight facts,” Sara said. 

Sara writes within the creative non-fiction genre and her work is influenced by her culture, her family and her identity as a migrant. 

She has been published multiple times including in Black Inc’s Anthology Growing Up African in Australia, frankie, Overland and our union’s national journals Independent Education and Bedrock

She won the Brisbane Writer’s Festival Microfiction competition (university student category) in 2018 and is one of six writers shortlisted for the 2019 Richelle Prize. 

History of the Competition 

The Literary Competition was established in March 1959 by our antecedent union, the Assistant Mistresses Association of Queensland, which represented teachers in non-government girls’ schools in Queensland. 

It aimed to help encourage the literary development of students, to encourage the freedom of expression and to help cultivate the creative faculty and literature, according to the minutes of the Mistresses’ Association in March 1959. 

The emerging poet Judith Wright, whose poetry is now an essential part of the fabric of Australian literature, agreed to be the judge of the lyric poem section that year. 

Full List of Competition Winners

Section A Non-fiction Prose Years 11-12

First place: Chanuli Jayasena, Sommerville House 

Second place: Hannah Korger, Jubilee Christian College

Third place: Imogen Fern, Townsville Grammar School


Highly Commended: Paige Mackie, Our Lady's College

Grace Lenthall, Saint Stephen's College

Julia Brown, Somerville House

Elizabeth Drennan, Somerville House


Section A Short Story Years 11-12

First place: Katie Wainwright, All Saints Anglican School

Second place: Hannah Park, St Mary's Catholic College

Third place: Amy Wortmann, Matthew Flinders Anglican College


Highly Commended: Shelby Devine, St Stephen's Catholic College

Celine Aswad, Our Lady's College

Hope Loveday, The Glennie School

Charlotte Hutchinson, Kenmore State High School


Section A Poem Years 11-12

First place: Hannah Ostini, Somerville House

Second place: Nikhitha Jacob, The Glennie School

Third place: Sionnan Gresham, Somerville House


Highly Commended: Grace Beattie, Somerville House

Erin McConnell, Pimlico State High School


Section B Short Story Years 9-10

First place: Steven Colyer, Kedron State High School

Second place: Sophie Ley-Hornsey, Kelvin Grove State College

Third place: Oscar Riguet, Kedron State High School


Highly Commended: Zachary Anderson, Kedron State High School

Lauren Coote, Kedron State High School

Neve O’Mara, Warwick State High School

Claudia Pilgrim, Brigidine College


Section B Poem Years 9-10

First place: Olivia Soncin, St Stephen's Catholic College

Second place: Millie Williams, Kelvin Grove State College

Third place: Alison Homeming, Somerville House


Highly Commended: Millie Wesley, Kelvin Grove State College

Cassidy Cool, Moura State High School

Storm Mason, Emmaus College

Ella Woodborne, Sunshine Coast Grammar School


Section C Short Story Years 7-8

First place: Grace Parry, Kenmore State High School

Second place: Artemisia Allan, Indooroopilly State High School

Third place: Caitlin Briggs, Corinda State High School


Highly Commended: Clover Eden, Maleny State High School

Alexander Eddie, St Mary’s College

Jessica Cash, Matthew Flinders Anglican College

Sze Yong Ng, Brisbane Grammar School


Section C Poem Years 7-8

First place: Charlotte White, Coombabah State High School

Second place: Alyssa Jackson, Mossman State High School

Third place: Holly Castle, Northside Christian College


Highly Commended: Andrew Woods, MacGregor State High School

Ellie Dawson, Northside Christian College

Matea Zhao, Somerville House

Emma Castle, Northside Christian College


Section D Short Story Years 5-6

First place: Isabelle Tayler, St Dympna's Primary School

Second place: Chayse Sheather, Brisbane Grammar School

Third place: Nelle Wilson, Ironside State School


Highly Commended: Ishika Digumarti, Ironside State School

Abbie Carter, St Martin's Catholic Primary School

Amaeh Reed, Holy Cross School

Mia McInerney, St Martin's Catholic Primary School


Section D Poem Years 5-6

First place: Amaeh Reed, Holy Cross School

Second place: Samuel Shellard, Riverside Christian College - Distance Education

Third place: Bethany Van Hecke, Our Lady of the Rosary School


Highly Commended: Austin Miles, St Mary's School

Summer O’Neill, Mount Samson State School

Chloe Wait, The Essington International School

Amelia Kalatzis, St Elizabeth's School


Section E Short Story Teachers

First place: Elizabeth McKewin, Kenmore State High School

Second place: Rachel Burley, Bray Park State High School

Third place: Adam Davy, Kelvin Grove State College

Authorised by Terry Burke, Independent Education Union of Australia – Queensland & Northern Territory Branch, Brisbane.