Log In

Your membership number
(this must be six digits long and may include zeros, e.g. 001234)

Initially set as your family name in lower-case but you may change it after you have logged in by clicking Your Details

Please enter a username and a password

Checking membership credentials

Logging in

Login Failed
Home > News > 2016 > September > Students venture ‘In the Garden’ for Art Design Awards

Students venture ‘In the Garden’ for Art Design Awards

Prep_-_Year_2_and_Harriet_Hunter_winner_Noah_Chilcott.jpgStudents and teachers showcased their artistic flair in our union’s annual Excellence in Art Design Awards.

This year’s theme ‘In the Garden’ saw entrants head outdoors for inspiration to create artworks which best represented the theme, which originated from The Secret Garden quotation, “the whole world is a garden”.

The awards, held on Wednesday 7 September, at Queensland Multicultural Centre, Kangaroo Point, attracted an array of students and teachers from the independent education sector.

Awards of Excellence and Highly Commended Awards were presented to students from kindergarten to year twelve as well as the Open (teacher) Award. An outstanding entrant was also awarded the Harriet Hunter Memorial Award. View a full list of winners below.

The competition, which attracts more than 1,000 entries each year, asks participants to produce a piece of artwork that best reflects the theme. The artworks may be printed or drawn or can be a collage, sculpture, multi-media or photographic work.

The Harriet Hunter Memorial Award was established in memory and celebration of Harriet Hunter, a gifted and talented student whose life was unexpectedly and tragically taken in 1999 after trying to save her dog in the South-East Queensland floods.

IEUA-QNT Branch Secretary Terry Burke said our union established the awards in 1994 to promote and encourage artistic students.

“Art is a very important area of learning in schools and kindergartens and IEUA-QNT is proud to support students, teachers and practising artists in Queensland. These students are to be congratulated for their remarkable achievements,” Mr Burke said.

View photographs from the Art Design Awards in the gallery below.

Award recipients


Award of Excellence
Anya Parfenova, Yeronga Hyde Road Kindergarten

Highly Commended

  • Isabetta Ingeri, Albany Creek Kindergarten
  • Immy Cook, Yeronga Hyde Road Kindergarten
  • Kian Catbagan, Dalby Beck Street Kindergarten
  • Ruby Kelk, Cooroy Community Kindergarten
  • Sophia Walters, Cooroy Community Kindergarten
  • Hudson Body, Dalby Beck Street Kindergarten

Prep – Year 2

Award of Excellence
Amelie Smith, Heights College (North Rockhampton)

Highly Commended

  • Oliver Woolveridge, St Pius' Primary School
  • Avalon Speirs, St Margaret's Anglican Girls School
  • Noah Chilcott, St Pius' Primary School
  • Niamh Cherney, St Joseph's Primary School (Corinda)
  • Luka Boban, St Martin's School
  • Joel Hensley, Heights College (North Rockhampton)
  • Ben Nguygen, Heights College (North Rockhampton)

Year 3 – 4

Award of Excellence
Marcelle Gunning, St Martin's School

Highly Commended

  • Lachlan Veivers, Ipswich Grammar School
  • Fern Shepherd, Good News Lutheran Primary School
  • Loretta Carpenter, Our Lady of the Southern Cross College
  • Charlie Walsh, St Augustine's Parish Primary School
  • Kaylee Mayoh, St Paul's School (Bald Hills)
  • Charlee Forster, St Francis Xavier School (Runaway Bay)

Year 5 – 6

Award of Excellence
Scarlett PurserBailey, St Francis Xavier School (Runaway Bay)

Highly Commended

  • Josephine De Graeve, St Mary MacKillop Primary School
  • Mali Smith, St Anthony's School (Kedron)
  • Charles Boland, Our Lady of the Southern Cross College
  • Charlotte Toohey, St Francis Xavier School (Runaway Bay)
  • Jordan Elmouttie, Southern Cross Catholic College – Delany Campus
  • Cooper Swain, St Augustine's Parish Primary School

Year 7 - 8

Award of Excellence
Charlotte Heather, St Margaret's Anglican Girls School

Highly Commended

  • Breanna Gillespie, Staines Memorial College
  • Rohen Ferreira, St Joseph's Nudgee College
  • Sabrina Hen, John Paul College
  • Jared Wales, Ipswich Grammar School
  • Ruby Rough, Gold Coast Christian College
  • Jess Muir, Lourdes Hill College

Year 9 - 10

Award of Excellence
Lan Fang, Ormiston College

Highly Commended

  • Jamila Rodbert, Mt St Michael's College
  • Alexandra Leyshou, All Hallows School
  • Jasmine Mick, Rockhampton Girls Grammar School
  • Lachlan Breach, St Andrew's Lutheran College
  • Lily Sadiq, Cannon Hill Anglican College
  • Sara Nicol, All Hallows School

Year 11 - 12

Award of Excellence
Rachel Eason, Mt St Michael's College

Highly Commended

  • Emily Boehmer, All Hallows School
  • Charlotte Traves, St Margaret's Anglican Girls School
  • Ceilidh Bishop, School of Total Education (Warwick)
  • Ben Ritter, Marist College Ashgrove
  • Alex Sgroi, Marist College Ashgrove
  • Rhianna Rundle-Thiele, Cannon Hill Anglican College

Open (Teacher)

Award of Excellence
Caroline Barnard, Hills College (Jimboomba)

Harriet Hunter Memorial Award

  • Noah Chilcott, St Pius' Primary School

Authorised by Terry Burke, Independent Education Union of Australia – Queensland & Northern Territory Branch, Brisbane.